The Winco OPL-14 is the best-documented stainless steel serving tray here for most tables: a one-piece oval platter with maker-identified 18/8 stainless steel, a nominal 14-inch format, and a dishwasher-safe exact listing. Choose the G.E.T. SSTPD-1612-MP for integrated handles, or the Vollrath 82093 when a smaller handled tray and a published 187°F heat ceiling fit your service.
This is a research-based product roundup, not a load, carrying, scratch, rust, or heat-retention test. The goal is to match the tray format and the documented surface, dimensions, care, and heat boundaries to the way you serve.
Best overall

Winco OPL-14 Stainless Steel Oval Platter
4.4 out of 5 (408 ratings, as of August 22, 2026)
The clearest documented rimmed platter when an 18/8 stainless surface and a compact single-piece format matter more than handles or a warming function.
Best for: Serving a main dish, appetizers, or desserts on an oval stainless platter without a separate stand, liner, or warmer.
Check price on Amazon- Format and dimensions
- Oval platter; maker lists 13.38 x 9.38 x 1 inches, while the exact listing lists 13.63 x 9.5 x 1 inches
- Food-contact material
- 18/8 stainless steel; no coating or liner identified in the reviewed records
- Care and limits
- Exact listing says dishwasher safe; oven, warming, load, and usable interior-area limits are not stated
Why we picked it
- The current maker page identifies 18/8 stainless steel and publishes the nominal dimensions
- The exact ASIN is a single platter rather than a mixed-material set
- The marketplace record identifies a dishwasher-safe care attribute
Watch-outs
- Maker and marketplace measurements differ slightly
- The usable food area is not published separately from the outside dimensions
- No oven, warmer, load, or handle option is documented for this model
Considerations
Match ASIN B001DTPBRE to model OPL-14 and confirm the live dimensions before ordering. Do not use the nominal 14-inch label as the usable food area.
The best stainless steel serving trays at a glance
| Pick | Format | Outside dimensions | Food-contact evidence | Care and heat boundary |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Winco OPL-14 | Rimmed oval platter | Maker: 13.38 x 9.38 x 1 in; Amazon: 13.63 x 9.5 x 1 in | Maker identifies 18/8 stainless steel; no coating or liner identified | Exact listing says dishwasher safe; oven, warmer, and load limits unknown |
| G.E.T. SSTPD-1612-MP | Handled rectangular tray | Body: 16 x 12 x 3/8 in; maker title gives 18 7/8 in including handles | Maker identifies mirror-polished hammered stainless steel; direct-contact certification not separately stated | Exact listing says dishwasher safe; oven, warmer, and load limits unknown |
| Vollrath 82093 | Small handled rectangular tray | Maker: 12 x 9 x 0.89 in; exact listing: 12 x 9 x 1 in | Maker identifies stainless steel and a satin rim with mirror-finish interior | Catalog says dishwasher safe; maker states heat-resistant up to 187°F; no oven or load rating |
The table keeps outside size separate from usable food area. Handles, rolled rims, and wall height take up space, and none of the reviewed makers publishes a usable interior footprint for these exact models. A tray’s stainless body also does not establish a load rating, an oven permission, or safe use with a warmer.
1. Best overall: Winco OPL-14 Oval Platter
Winco’s current OPL-14 product page identifies the model as a 14-inch oval platter and lists 18/8 stainless steel, 13.38 x 9.38 x 1-inch dimensions, and a one-each unit of measure. It sits in Winco’s dining-service and serving-tray collections, so it owns the rimmed platter decision rather than the handled breakfast-tray or divided-container decision.
The exact Amazon record for ASIN B001DTPBRE identifies model OPL-14, a 4.4 rating from 408 ratings, a single platter, stainless steel material, and a dishwasher-safe care attribute as of August 22, 2026. That record lists 13.63 x 9.5 x 1 inches, which does not exactly match the maker page. I keep both measurements visible rather than choosing the one that makes the platter seem larger.
The reviewed records do not state a numeric gauge, a separate usable interior measurement, an oven limit, a warming limit, a load capacity, or a coating. The OPL-14 is therefore a straightforward room-temperature serving platter in this guide. If you need to move hot food directly from an oven or chafing setup, use a vessel with a maker-stated permission for that exact use instead of transferring a dishwasher attribute into an oven claim.
2. Best handled tray: G.E.T. SSTPD-1612-MP
G.E.T.’s current SSTPD-1612-MP product page identifies a rectangular Hammersmyth tray with two integrated handles. The maker lists mirror-polished hammered stainless steel, a 16 x 12-inch body, a 3/8-inch tray height, and 18 7/8 inches including the handles. Its technical specification lists stainless steel, a one-each case pack, and the model barcode.
The exact Amazon snapshot for ASIN B09J6C4ZFM identifies the same model, a 4.6 rating from 55 ratings, a 16 x 12 x 0.5-inch listing dimension, a single tray with handles, and dishwasher-safe care as of August 22, 2026. The 3/8-inch maker height and 0.5-inch marketplace height are close but not identical, so verify the live model if a low shelf or serving cart is a tight fit.
The handles change the outside length without increasing the documented 16 x 12-inch tray body. The maker describes the steel as heavy-weight and the handles as built in, but neither statement is a published load rating or a carrying-stability test. I do not infer how much food or drink the tray can hold, whether the handles stay cool, or whether the surface resists scratches or corrosion.
Best handled tray

G.E.T. SSTPD-1612-MP Hammersmyth Handled Serving Tray
4.6 out of 5 (55 ratings, as of August 22, 2026)
A two-handle rectangular tray with a clearly identified stainless body when the handles are part of the serving format you need.
Best for: Moving a tray between a counter, table, or room-service setup when an integrated-handle format fits the path.
Check price on Amazon- Format and dimensions
- Rectangular handled tray; 16 x 12 x 3/8 inches from maker, 18 7/8 inches including handles
- Food-contact material
- Mirror-polished hammered stainless steel; no liner or coating identified in the reviewed records
- Care and limits
- Exact listing says dishwasher safe; oven, warmer, load, handle-temperature, and usable-area limits are not stated
Why we picked it
- The current maker page identifies the two integrated handles and separates body size from total handle length
- The exact model, finish, stainless material, and single-tray contents match across the maker and marketplace records
- The marketplace snapshot supplies a dated dishwasher-care attribute
Watch-outs
- The maker and marketplace heights differ slightly
- No published load capacity or independent carrying-stability evidence is available
- The maker does not state an oven, warmer, or handle-temperature limit for this exact tray
Considerations
Confirm that the live listing is the mirror-polished steel B09J6C4ZFM variant, not an antique-bronze variation, and measure the route including the handles.
3. Best for a published heat ceiling: Vollrath 82093
Vollrath’s current 82093 product page identifies a small rectangular serving tray with stainless construction, integral handles, and 12 x 9 x 0.89-inch overall dimensions. The page says the tray is heat-resistant up to 187°F. That is a useful boundary because it prevents a stainless serving tray from being treated as an oven pan or a high-heat warming vessel.
The current Vollrath smallwares catalog places model 82093 in the stainless serving-tray family, which it describes as heavy-gauge stainless steel with a satin-finished rim, mirror-finished interior, integral handles, and dishwasher-safe care. The catalog does not give a numeric gauge for 82093, and the maker page does not publish a usable interior footprint or load capacity.
The exact Amazon snapshot for ASIN B002E0E62C identifies model 82093, a single 12 x 9 x 1-inch stainless tray with integral handles, and a current marketplace listing from a third-party seller. It returned zero ratings at retrieval on August 22, 2026, so no rating is displayed in the card below. Availability and seller details can change; match the live ASIN and maker model before buying.
Best documented heat boundary

Vollrath 82093 Small Rectangular Stainless Serving Tray
The most useful pick when a maker-published 187°F heat-resistant limit matters more than a large tray body or a rating history.
Best for: Serving setups that need a small handled tray and a clearly stated upper heat boundary for the tray itself.
Check price on Amazon- Format and dimensions
- Small rectangular tray with integral handles; maker lists 12 x 9 x 0.89 inches
- Food-contact material
- Stainless steel with satin rim and mirror-finish interior identified by the maker
- Care and limits
- Catalog says dishwasher safe; maker states heat-resistant up to 187°F; no oven or load rating
Why we picked it
- The maker publishes a numeric heat-resistant ceiling for the exact model
- The current maker page and catalog identify the stainless construction, integral handles, finish, and dimensions
- The tray format is smaller than the other handled pick and has a clearly identified model number
Watch-outs
- The marketplace snapshot had no rating history at retrieval
- The maker calls the construction heavy-gauge without giving a numeric gauge for this model
- The 187°F statement is not an oven, broiler, warmer, or load permission
Considerations
Treat 187°F as the lowest documented heat boundary for this tray. Confirm the current seller, ASIN B002E0E62C, and model 82093 before ordering.
Food-contact materials
The surface that touches food is the central tray question. A stainless exterior, a product title, or a polished finish does not automatically disclose a lining, coating, grade, or certification for every part.
| Exact model | Surface that may contact food | Other disclosed parts | Unknowns to preserve |
|---|---|---|---|
| Winco OPL-14 | Maker identifies 18/8 stainless steel for the platter | One-piece platter; no separate liner or coating identified | Direct-contact certification, numeric gauge, usable interior area, and any finish treatment are not separately stated |
| G.E.T. SSTPD-1612-MP | Maker identifies mirror-polished hammered stainless steel | Two integrated stainless tray handles are part of the same tray format | Direct-contact certification, numeric gauge, coating or liner, and separate handle limits are not stated |
| Vollrath 82093 | Maker identifies stainless steel construction and a mirror-finish interior | Satin-finished rim and integral handles are described in the catalog | Exact grade, numeric gauge, direct-contact certification for this model, and any coating or liner are not separately stated |
No reviewed record identifies a nonstick coating, plastic liner, silicone mat, warming insert, or removable compartment for the three selected ASINs. That is not permission to substitute a different variation or accessory. If you add a liner, underliner, stand, lid, or warmer, verify that part’s food-contact material and heat limit separately.
Rim, handles, gauge, and usable dimensions
The three picks solve different geometry problems:
- Winco’s OPL-14 is a rimmed oval platter with a maker-listed 1-inch overall height. The maker and exact listing do not publish a usable interior footprint, so the nominal 14-inch name is not a food-area measurement.
- G.E.T.’s 16 x 12-inch handled-tray body is separate from its 18 7/8-inch total length including handles. Vollrath’s 12 x 9-inch body also includes integral handles, but its maker page does not publish their separate projection.
- Vollrath calls 82093 heavy-gauge, while G.E.T. calls its tray heavy-weight and Winco provides a material and size but no numeric gauge. None of those descriptions supports a load, bending, or carrying claim.
Use the outside dimensions to check shelves, carts, tables, and storage. Ask the maker or seller for usable interior dimensions when a large roast, sheet of pastries, or several dishes must fit. If a listing reports a different height or width from the maker page, preserve the discrepancy and measure the available space with the exact model in mind.
Flat, rimmed, handled, compartment, and warmer formats
“Serving tray” can describe several formats that should not be ranked by one feature:
- Flat trays prioritize a shallow surface and presentation. They need a separate check for edge height, food containment, and whether the surface is intended for direct food contact.
- Rimmed platters add a perimeter and usually a little wall height. The rim may help define the serving surface, but it does not establish a load rating or leakproof behavior.
- Handled trays add carrying points and extra outside length. The handles can change the route through a doorway or between a counter and table, and the maker must document any temperature or load boundary before you treat them as a hot-food carrier.
- Compartment trays divide the surface for separate foods. They can introduce seams, raised dividers, lids, seals, coatings, or unknown contact materials. The current candidates found for this search did not provide enough exact maker evidence for the central food-contact and care claims, so they are not selected here.
- Warmer and chafing formats add a fuel, electrical element, water pan, stand, lid, or insert. Those are systems rather than simple serving trays. A stainless tray body does not transfer the heat, fuel, or food-holding permissions of the complete warmer.
Choose the format first, then compare stainless grade or material evidence, dimensions, finish, care, and the lowest limit for every attached part.
Care, dishwasher, oven, and warming limits
The reviewed care records are not interchangeable:
| Exact model | Dishwasher evidence | Heat evidence | What is not established |
|---|---|---|---|
| Winco OPL-14 | Exact marketplace listing says dishwasher safe | No oven, warmer, or numeric heat limit in the reviewed maker evidence | Dishwasher care does not establish oven or hot-food holding permission |
| G.E.T. SSTPD-1612-MP | Exact marketplace listing says dishwasher safe; maker provides a care-guide link | No oven, warmer, or numeric heat limit in the reviewed exact product page | Heavy-weight steel and handles do not establish load or handle-temperature limits |
| Vollrath 82093 | Current maker catalog says dishwasher safe | Maker states heat-resistant up to 187°F | 187°F is not an oven, broiler, chafing, warming, or load rating |
Apply the lowest documented component limit. Do not put a tray under a broiler, on a burner, or in a warmer unless the current instructions for that exact model authorize it. Let a hot tray cool according to its instructions, and do not add a liner or stand whose material and limit are unknown. A stainless surface is not a rust-proof, scratch-proof, or universally food-safe-for-every-use promise.
How we chose
This is a research-based editorial roundup, not a hands-on or side-by-side test. We did not carry, load, heat, wash, scratch, or compare these trays in use. Ratings, review counts, seller details, availability, and dimensions from marketplace records are dated Bright Data exact-ASIN snapshots captured on August 22, 2026; they are not scores we assigned.
We prioritized:
- An exact marketplace ASIN that matched a current maker model and product identity.
- A current maker page or catalog that identified the tray material, geometry, dimensions, handles, finish, gauge wording, or heat and care limits.
- Clear separation of rimmed platters, handled trays, flat formats, divided trays, and warmer systems.
- Food-contact material evidence for the central tray surface, with coatings, liners, lids, handles, and unknown parts kept separate.
- Usable-area, outside-dimension, load, dishwasher, oven, warming, and availability boundaries without inventing missing numbers.
We used five bounded discovery queries and one exact Bright Data request for each of the three selected ASINs. We then checked the current Winco, G.E.T., and Vollrath maker records. We excluded compartment and warmer listings when the central food-contact surface, component limits, or exact maker identity remained ambiguous. No prices are displayed.
For adjacent stainless serving pieces, see the best stainless steel flatware, best stainless steel mixing bowls, and best stainless steel cookie cutters guides. The 18/0 versus 18/10 stainless steel comparison explains why a grade disclosure can matter, while this roundup owns the tray-format and exact-model decision.
What to verify before ordering
Check the exact model rather than relying on a generic “stainless serving tray” title:
- Check the food-contact surface. Confirm that the tray body, rim, handles, coating, liner, divider, and any accessory are identified separately.
- Check usable space. Match the maker’s overall dimensions to your table, cart, shelf, and serving dish, then ask whether an interior footprint is published.
- Check the format. Decide whether you need a flat surface, a rimmed platter, integral handles, compartments, or a complete warming system.
- Check the lowest limit. A dishwasher statement is not an oven or warmer statement, and a numeric heat ceiling does not establish load or carrying safety.
- Check the grade and gauge. Treat 18/8 or another exact alloy statement as different evidence from a generic stainless label. Treat “heavy-gauge” or “heavy-weight” as a description, not a capacity rating.
- Recheck the listing. Match the live ASIN, maker model, finish, seller, dimensions, and care instructions before ordering because marketplace variations and availability change.
Final decision
Choose the Winco OPL-14 when you want the clearest 18/8 rimmed platter evidence and do not need handles or a warming function. Choose the G.E.T. SSTPD-1612-MP when its integrated handles and 16 x 12-inch body fit your route, while keeping its load and heat limits unknown. Choose the Vollrath 82093 when a compact handled tray and a maker-stated 187°F heat boundary are more useful than a rating history.
None of these picks is a load-tested carrier, an oven pan, or a complete warmer. Match the exact food-contact surface, usable area, outside dimensions, handles, finish, care, and lowest component limit to the way you will serve.



